After You Arrive


All children in Canada receive an education

In Canada, the government provides an education for every child free of charge. Public education is paid for through taxes and is administered by the provinces and territories in cooperation with local school boards.

Depending on the province or territory, public education begins at age four or five. Children must continue to receive an education until age 15 or 16, according to the law in the province or territory in which the child lives.

You can help your children learn by being aware of how education in Canada works.

For more information about Canada’s education system, visit the Ministry of Education website for the province or territory in which you live.

  1. British Columbia
  2. Alberta
  3. Saskatchewan
  4. Manitoba
  5. Ontario
  6. Quebec
  7. New Brunswick
  8. Nova Scotia
  9. Prince Edward Island
  10. Newfoundland and Labrador
  11. Yukon
  12. Northwest Territories
  13. Nunavut

Copyright MoveInCanada.com. All Rights Reserved.